What I’ve learned

They say when you get into college, you will change into the better version of who you are but is that really the case? Two years ago since graduating high school, I always wanted to be my complete self to all that I met. So going into my first year of college, I had this expectation that my life was going to be much better that I would have many friends. The thought process that I had made me go overboard. See, I am naturally crazy, I liked to laugh and have a good time where ever I am but instead of letting it naturally come out, I had forced it out of myself making people think that something mentally was wrong with me. Doing those things led me to meet others that didn’t know who I really was. Then going into my second year, I said “OK Shanti go with the flow, when they become your friends then you can open up to them” but in doing so I met people that back-stab me behind my back. This made me to not open up to anyone close to me because everyone that I led in my life had backstab me in some type of way.

On the other hand college did teached me couple of things such as it doesn’t matter the quantity but the quality of your friends. The people that support and cheer for you to do well. I may not have many friends but I do have amazing people in my life that keep me to think positive. I wouldn’t have none of this without the Lord by my side, protecting me. HE brought these people into my life. I do not regret anything in my life because I know that it was a plan of GOD, he was growing me, helping me to become better. I can now see that where I am now. I thought what truly matters was my acceptance from other people because I have never had that before. People used to always bring me down and trying to impress them in effect it had brought my self esteem down. Not any more! I am standing up; GOD hand made us. So we are special in his eyes, it doesn’t matter what others think of you. The only thing matters is what you think of yourself, to love yourself the way that GOD loves us. I may be 21 and I may have a lot to learn but what i do know is that we don’t deserved to live the way society wants us to live. Society tells us to love ourselves but we are constantly being exposed to the standards of beauty. No one should have the right to tell us if we are beautiful or not. Not shouldn’t even be a thing because we all are beautiful, we have the potential to do all things. One thing I will leave you all is that don’t let anyone define your beauty.

Leave a Reply

